Since September 2005 Clemens Unterreiner has been a soloist and ensemble member at the Vienna State Opera where he could establish himself as one of the most popular and upcoming baritones. He sings Sharpless, Faninal, Angelotti, Schtschelkalow, Schaunard, Donner, Melot, Harlekin and works together with conducters like Franz Welser-Möst, Christian Thielemann, Simon Rattle, Philippe Jordan, Marco Armiliato, Peter Schneider, Andris Nelsons, Fabio Luisi, Asher Fisch, Yves Abel, Dennis Russell Davies, Ádam Fischer and others. From the season 2008 he also sings as a guest solist Sharpless, Sprecher, Falke, Papageno at the Volksoper Wien.

Education:

Born and raised in Vienna Clemens Unterreiner also spent his childhood in Graz and Budapest. After he completed his school at the Academic High School he commenced studying law at the University of Vienna. During his studies, he began to train his voice and to deepen his knowledge in music theory and musicology. Since 1998 he started singing lessons among others with Prof. KS Hilde Rössel-Majdan, Prof. KS. Gottfried Hornik, Prof. Helena Lazarska and KS. Wicus Slabbert (KS = singer of outstanding merit), He participated in master classes with Prof. KS. Bernd Weikl, KS. Artur Korn and Prof. KS. Gottfried Hornik. During the year 2000 he was awarded a Bayreuth Festival Scholarship and in 2002 he was a semifinalist at the International Belvedere Singing Competition in Vienna. His extensive repertory includes lyric italian, german and french chivalrous and heroic baritone parts, operetta as well as a wide range of art song repertory including Schubert, Schumann, Strauss, Brahms, Wolf and many more, but also contemporary works of various composers.

Career:

He started his carreer at the annual Vienna Festival (Wiener Festwochen) and performed in concert tours in Bulgaria, Syria, Italy, Spain and Germany. He performed at the Grand Hall of the Wiener Musikverein, at the Vienna Concert House (Wiener Konzerthaus), Palao de la Musica Barcelona and other international concert halls. He sang concert performances of "La Traviata" - Germont, "Fidelio" - Pizarro and "Tosca" - Scarpia and in October 2002 he made his opera debut at the State Theatre in Linz for the European première of "The Voyage" by Philip Glass. During the summer of 2003 he sang Count Baccellone in "La Contessina". Further engagements took him 2004 at the Vienna State Opera where he performed in the première of Massenet’s "Werther". He sang Sharpless in "Madama Butterfly" in Chur, Straßburg and Großes Festspielhaus Salzburg which was awarded the Prize of the Music Theatre 2004 season. During the summer of 2005 he sang the title role in Don Giovanni at the Heidenheim Opera Festival in Germany and Bartolo in Paisiello's "Barber of Seville". On September 4th 2005 he had his house debut in Puccini´s "Manon Lescaut" where he started his carreer a soloist and ensemble member of the Vienna State Opera. In 2006 he sang Hermann, Schlemihl and Crespél in "The Tales of Hoffmann" and Don Parmenione in Rossini´s "L´occasione fa il ladro". 2007 he was heard as Don Fernando - Minister in "Fidelio" and celebrated with great success his debut as Guglielmo in "Cosi fan tutte". In 2008 he was guest soloist at the Opera Festival of Steyr, where he celebrated as Consul Sharpless in Puccini's Madama Butterfly a great successes. In fall 2008 he debuted with great success also as Consul Sharpless (Italian original version) at the Vienna Volksoper and was listening to since then there as a guest soloist in Carmen, Magic Flute, Rusalka and The Bat. In 2009 he sang with great success Papageno and made his debut as a celebrated Sulpice in the premiere of "La fille du régiment". In 2010 he celebrated as Donner a successful home debut in "Rheingold" at the Wagner - Festival Budapest and sang 2011 a very successful debut at the Royal Opera Copenhagen as Sharpless (Madama Butterfly). In 2012, he sang his house debut as Melot at the Opera House in Nice and made ​​his debut at the Salzburg Festival. He debuted further in the new production of the Vienna State Opera, Gluck's Alceste as high priest / god of the underworld. 2013 he celebrated a brilliant success as Papageno in Mozart's Magic Flute at the Opera de Nice and a highly acclaimed Wolfram in Wagner's Tannhäuser. He also sang back its popular Vienna Faninal at the Vienna State Opera. In April 2013, he opened a Faninal at the gala performance of Rosenkavalier the new opera house in Linz. He sang at the State Opera the new production of Puccini's "La Fanciulla del West" and celebrated in the lead role of the mayor considerable success in the world premiere of the children's opera "Das Städchen Drumherum".

News:

Clemens Unterreiner made his debut in Arabella at the Semperoper in Dresden with Christian Thielemann and rescued the premiere of Hansel and Gretel shortly afterwards as the father - Peter Besenbinder at the Viennese Staatsoper also under the direction of Christian Thielemann. In 2016, he sang the New Year's Eve and New Year's Bat at the State Opera and made his debut at the premiere in the 3 sisters - tri sestri of Peter Eötvös. He also sang Albert in Werther at the Royal Opera House Muscat and sang at the Staatsoper, among others, in Tosca, La Bohéme, Manon, La fanciulla del west and Alceste. For his 10th anniversary at the Opera Klosterneuburg he triumphed as Tonio in Bajazzo and afterwards celebrated at the Vienna Staatsoper as the first Austrian after 34 years a great success as Escamillo in Carmen. In the autumn he sang several song recitals and concerts in the Ehrbarsaal and the Wiener Musikverein and celebrated his debut at the Royal Opera House Muscat as Telramund in Wagner's Lohengrin. He is looking forward to the "Zauberflöte" and „The Bat“ on New Year's Eve at the Staatsoper. Further premieres will be on the agenda at the Vienna State Opera, the St. Margarethen Opera Festival, Steinbacher Philharmonic Weeks Attersee, and a revival of the Rosenkavalier production at the Tokyo State Opera.

Seit September 2005 ist Clemens Unterreiner als Solist und festes Ensemblemitglied an der Wiener Staatsoper engagiert, wo er sich bereits als beliebter Wiener Bariton etablieren konnte. So war er bereits erfolgreich als Sharpless, Faninal, Schaunard, Donner, Angelotti, Harlekin, Melot, Schtschelkalow und vielen weiteren Rollen zu hören. Dabei arbeitete er mit Dirigenten wie Franz Welser-Möst, Christian Thielemann, Simon Rattle, Philippe Jordan, Marco Armiliato, Peter Schneider, Andris Nelsons, Asher Fisch, Yves Abel, Dennis Russell Davies, Ádam Fischer und anderen zusammen. Seit der Saison 2008 ist er auch in verschiedenen Rollen wie Sharpless, Sprecher, Falke und Papageno als Gastsolist an der Volksoper Wien zu hören.

Ausbildung:

Clemens Unterreiner wurde in Wien geboren und wuchs in seiner Heimatstadt sowie in Graz und Budapest auf. Nach der Matura am Akademischen Gymnasium begann er ein Studium der Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Wien. Während des Studiums begann er schon seine Stimme ausbilden zu lassen und seine Kenntnisse in Musiktheorie und Musikwissenschaften zu vertiefen. Seit 1998 Gesangsunterricht bei KS. Prof. Hilde Rössel-Majdan, KS. Prof. Gottfried Hornik, Prof. Helena Lazarska und KS. Wicus Slabbert. Er war Stipendiat der Richard Wagner Bayreuther Festspiele 2000 und besuchte Meisterkurse bei KS. Prof. Bernd Weikl, KS. Artur Korn und KS. Prof. Gottfried Hornik. Weiters war er Semi-Finalist beim Belvedere Gesangswettbewerb in Wien. Sein weitgefächertes Repertoire reicht vom lyrischen Fach bis zu italienischen-deutschen-französischen Kavalier- und Heldenbaritonpartien, Operette, einem umfangreichen klassischen Liedrepertoire von Schubert, Schumann, Strauss, Brahms, Wolf bis zu modernen zeitgenössischen Werken diverser Komponisten.

Karriere:

Er begann seine Karriere mit Auftritten bei den Wiener Festwochen und gastierte bei Konzertreisen in Bulgarien, Syrien, Italien, Spanien und Deutschland. Es folgten Konzerte im Großen Saal des Wiener Musikvereins, im Wiener Konzerthaus, im Palau de la musica - Barcelona und anderen internationalen Konzertsälen. Er sang konzertante Vorstellungen von "La Traviata" - Germont, "Fidelio" - Pizarro und "Tosca" - Scarpia und im Oktober 2002 gab er sein Hausdebut am Linzer Landestheater bei der Europapremiere von "The Voyage". Weitere Engagements führten ihn 2004 für die Premiere von "Werther" an die Wiener Staatsoper. Er sang den Konsul Sharpless in einer Produktion von "Madama Butterfly" ua. in Chur, Straßburg und am großen Festspielhaus Salzburg, welche mit dem Musiktheaterpreis der Spielzeit 2004 ausgezeichnet wurde. Im Sommer 2005 sang er den Don Giovanni bei den Festspielen Heidenheim - D und den Bartolo in Paisiellos "Barbier von Sevilla". Am 4. September 2005 gab er sein Staatsopern Hausdebut in "Manon Lescaut" und startete damit seine Karriere im Haus am Ring. 2006 sang er als Gastsolist bei diversen Vorstellungen den Hermann, Schlemihl und Crespel in "Hoffmanns Erzählungen" und den Don Parmenione in Rossini´s "L´occasione fa il ladro". 2007 war als Don Fernando-Minister in "Fidelio" zu hören und feierte mit großem Erfolg sein Rollendebut als Guglielmo in "Cosi fan tutte". Im Sommer 2008 feierte er als Konsul Sharpless in Puccini´s "Madama Butterfly" große Erfolge und im Herbst 2008 debütierte er mit großem Erfolg ebenfalls als Konsul Sharpless (italienische Urfassung) an der Volksoper Wien und war seither dort als Gastsolist in Carmen, Zauberflöte, Fledermaus und Rusalka zu hören. 2009 sang er mit großem Erfolg den Papageno und debutierte als gefeierter Sulpice in der Premiere von "La fille du régiment". 2010 feierte er als Donner ein erfolgreiches Hausdebut in "Rheingold" beim Wagner - Festival Budapest und sang 2011 an der Königlichen Oper Kopenhagen ein umjubeltes Hausdebut als Konsul Sharpless. 2012 sang er sein Hausdebut als Melot an der Oper in Nizza und hatte sein Debüt bei den Salzburger Festspielen. Er debütierte weiters in der Neuproduktion der Wiener Staatsoper von Gluck´s Alceste als Oberpriester/Gott der Unterwelt. 2013 feierte er einen fulminanten Erfolg als Papageno in Mozart´s Zauberflöte an der Opera de Nice und einen umjubelten Wolfram in Wagner´s Tannhäuser. Weiters sang er wieder seinen beliebten Wiener Faninal an der Wiener Staatsoper. Im April 2013 eröffnete er als Faninal bei der Galavorstellung vom Rosenkavalier das neue Opernhaus Linz. Er sang in der Staatsopern - Neuproduktion von Puccini´s "La fanciulla del west" und feierte in der Hauptrolle des Bürgermeisters einen beachtlichen Erfolg in der Uraufführung der Kinderoper "Das Städtchen Drumherum". In der Saison 2014 war Clemens Unterreiner neben seinen unzähligen Repertoirerollen auch u.a. als Gunther (Götterdämmerung), als Donner (Rheingold), Harlekin (Ariadne auf Naxos), Faninal (Rosenkavalier), Heerrufer ( Lohengrin), Don Fernando (Fidelio) und Papageno (Die Zauberflöte) zu hören. Weiters stand er bei der Neujahrs-Fledermaus als Dr. Falke auf der Bühne und feierte sein Rollendebut als Musiklehrer in der Ariadne auf Naxos, gab sein Debut an der Carnegie Hall in New York, sein Rollendebut als Telramund in Wagner´s Lohengrin und feierte einen umjubelten Liederabend im Wiener Musikverein.
2015 sang er unter anderem die Silvester-Fledermaus an der Wiener Staatsoper, den Faninal bei den Osterfestspielen Baden-Baden, das Brahms Requiem im Wiener Musikverein, Mahler´s Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen mit den Berliner Philharmonikern und danach in Wien mit den Wiener Philharmonikern und feierte als Faninal sein Hausdebüt an der Staatsoper Tokyo.

AKTUELLES:

Clemens Unterreiner debütierte in Arabella an der Semperoper in Dresden unter Christian Thielemann und rettete kurz darauf als Vater - Peter Besenbinder die Premiere von Hänsel und Gretel an der Wiener Staatsoper ebenfalls unter der Leitung von Christian Thielemann. 2016 sang er im Haus am Ring die Silvester und Neujahrs-Fledermaus und debütiert als Verschinin in der Premiere und Uraufführung an der Wiener Staatsoper in den 3 Schwestern von Peter Eötvös. Er debütiert weiters als Albert im Werther am Royal Opera House Muscat und sang an der Staatsoper u.a. in der Tosca, La Bohéme, Manon und der Wiederaufnahme der Alceste. Zu seinem 10 jährigen Jubiläum an der Oper Klosterneuburg triumphierte er im Sommer als Tonio im Bajazzo und feierte danach an der Wiener Staatsoper als erster Österreicher nach 34 Jahren einen großen Erfolg als Escamillo in der Carmen. Im Herbst sang er mehrere Liederabende und Konzerte im Ehrbarsaal und dem Wiener Musikverein und feierte sein Debüt am Royal Opera House Muscat als Telramund in Wagner´s Lohengrin und freut sich auf die Zauberflöte und die Silvesterfledermaus an der Staatsoper. 2017 stehen weitere Premieren an der Wiener Staatsoper, das Opernfestival St. Margarethen, Steinbacher Philharmonische Wochen am Attersee, Mahler Lieder beim Carinthischen Sommer sowíe im Herbst eine Wiederaufnahme des Rosenkavalier an der Wiener Staatsoper und danach an der Staatsoper Tokyo auf dem Plan. 2018 folgen viele Vorstellungen ua. in Rheingold, Götterdämmerung, Fidelio, La Bohéme, Rosenkavalier, Fledermaus,
Freischütz sowie zahlreiche Rollendebüts, Liederabende und Konzerte im In- und Ausland.